Skip to content Skip to navigation


Group photo (10/2019), left to right: Eli Stein, Donald Avansino, Dr. Frank Willett, Guy Wilson, Prof. Jaimie Henderson, Dr. Darrel Deo, Prof. Krishna Shenoy, Dr. Sharlene Flesher, Dr. Sergey Stavisky

Nov/Dec 2021: We are recruiting a Lab Manager to help run day-to-day operations in Prof. Shenoy's NPSL & NPTL Labs, via an HHMI appointment at Stanford


Mr. Donald Avansino, BS Software Engineer, HHMI

Dr. Darrel Deo, PhD Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Neurosurgery

Mr. Chaofei Fan, MS Graduate student, Department of Computer Science

Ms. Foram Kamdar, MS Clinical Neurotechnology Research Assistant (CNRA), Department of Neurosurgery

Professor Jaimie Henderson, MD  Co-director

Ms. Erin Kunz, MS Graduate student, Department of Electrical Engineering

Ms. Alisa Danielle Levin, BS First-year EE PhD rotation student, joint with Prof. Jaimie Henderson, Winter 2022, NPTL

Mr. Benyamin Meschede-Krasa, BS First-year Neurosciences PhD Program rotation student, joint with Prof. Jaimie Henderson, Winter 2022, NPTL

Dr. Nishal Shah, PhD Postdoctoral Fellow

Professor Krishna Shenoy, PhD Co-director

Dr. Frank Willett, PhD Research Scientist III, HHMI
Mr. Guy Wilson, BS Graduate Student, Neurosciences Program, joint with Prof. Shaul Druckmann

Ms. Cristine Blabe, MS - NPTL clinical technician 2010-2017 (present: Specialty Exercise Instructor, Stanford Health Care)

Associate Professor Cindy Chestek, PhD - NPTL postdoc 2010-2012 (present: Associate Professor, Deptartment of Bioengineering, University of Michigan)

Dr. Nir Even-Chen, PhD - NPTL graduate student 2016-2018 (present: research scientist, Lyft Inc.)

Dr. Sharlene Flesher, PhD. 2007-2011, Department of Computer Engineering Saint Mary's University, San Antonio, TX undergraduate. 2011-2017 Department of Bioengineering, University of Pittsburgh, graduate school. 2017-2020 Postdoctoral Fellow with NPTL. 2020- Sensor Calibration and Instrumentation Engineer (input devices), Apple, Cupertino, CA.

Associate Professor Vikash Gilja, PhD - NPTL postdoc 2010-2013 (present: Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of California at San Diego)

Assistant Prof. Daniel Kramer, MD - Clinical Instructor and Fellow with Prof. Jaimie Henderson, Department of Neurosurgery

Mr. Naryan Murthy, MS 2019-2021, Graduate student , Department of Electrical Engineering (present: Medtronic, Santa Rosa, CA)

Assistant Prof. Paul Nuyujukian, MD, PhD - NPTL postdoc 2014-2017 (present: Assistant Professor, Department of Bioengineering and, by courtesy, Neurosurgery and Electrical Engineering, Stanford University)

Assistant Prof. Chethan Pandarinath, PhD - NPTL postdoc 2011-2017 (present: Assistant Professor, Department of Bioengineering, Emory University and Georgia Institute of Technology)

Mr. Neal Patel, MS 2015-2020 BS and MS, Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University. 2020- medical student at Stanford School of Medicine. 2021 summer, Med Scholars with NPTL.

Dr. Beata Jarosiewicz, PhD 2010-2013 Investigator at BrainGate, Department of Neuroscience, Brown University; 2013-2016 Assistant Professor (Research), Department of Neuroscience, Brown University and Investigator at BrainGate; 2016-2018 Senior Research Scientist, Department of Neurosurgery and Electrical Engineeering, Stanford University and at NPTL; 2018-2020 Senior Clinical Research Scientist at NeuroPace, Inc.; 2020- Neuroengineer at Neuralink, Corp.

Mr. Allan Raventos, MS - NPTL REU summer student 2015-2016, EE MS student 2016-2017; Machine Learning Engineer, Toyota Research Institute, Palo Alto, CA; 2020- PhD student, Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University

Mr. Paymon Rezaii, MS - NPTL clinical neurotechnology research assistant 2017-2018 (present: staff, Department of Neurosurgery, Stanford University)

Assistant Professor Sergey Stavisky, PhD 2004-2008 Brown University undergraduate. 2008-2010 BrainGate Research Engineer, Brown University. 2010-2016 Neurosciences PhD student with NPSL / Shenoy Group, Stanford. 2016-2021 Postdoc with NPTL, Stanford. 2021- Assistant Professor, Department of Neurological Surgery, Univeristy of California at Davis, Lab website: UC Davis Neuroprosthetics Lab.

Mr. Elias Stein, MS 2019-2021, Graduate student, Department of Electrical Engineering; Special Projects Group, Apple, Cupertino, CA.

Dr. Frank Willett, PhD Research Scientist III through HHMI


Last modified: 
Saturday, January 8, 2022 - 13:58